Search and verify licenses
Sample Florida Driver License

Florida Driver License

To obtain a Florida drivers license or to do Florida drivers license check you will need to visit to the DHMSV Driver License Service Center.

Florida Driver License Classes

To drive a car in the state of Florida you should obtain a Class E Florida driver’s license.

Class E driver license

To clarify, this is the usual kind of driver’s license. It will allow you to operate any noncommercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 26,001 pounds. It includes a passenger car, a 15-passenger van, a truck, a recreational vehicle, or a two-or three-wheel motor vehicle, such as a moped. The license is valid for 8 years unless you are at least 80 years old, in which case it is valid for 6 years.

Class A driver license

In short, it allows you to operate trucks or truck combinations with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more with a towed vehicle of more than 10,000 pounds.

Class B driver license

To clarify, a class B license allows you to operate any straight trucks with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more.

Class C driver license

With a class C driver’s license, you are allowed to transport hazardous materials or more than 16 people (including the driver) with a GVWR of fewer than 26,001 pounds.

“Motorcycle Only” driver license

With this license, you can ride two or three-wheel motorcycles with an engine size of more than 50 cc. But if you have any class of driver’s license, you can get a motorcycle endorsement which will be added to your existing commercial or noncommercial driver license.

Florida driver license requirements

You are not allowed to drive a car without having a driver’s license. For a class E driver’s license, you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, pass a knowledge exam, a vision test, a hearing test, and a driving test.
Depending on your age you can apply for the Class E Learner’s License, Intermediate License, and Full-Privileged License.

Learner’s License

If you are from 15 to 18 and want to drive a car in the state of Florida, you may apply for and obtain a learner’s license. According to Graduated Driver License (CDL) laws, it’s the first step of the Florida driver’s license obtaining process.
With this license, you are allowed to drive under the supervision of someone, who is at least 21 years old and has a driver’s license. But, the first 3 months after getting your learner’s license, you are not allowed to drive at night. After that period you can drive until 10:00 p.m.

How to apply

  1. Complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course or an equivalent course offered by your local school board
  2. Make an appointment and apply in person at a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHMSV) Driver License Service Center
  3. Pass vision and hearing exam. If your visual acuity readings are below 20/40, you’ll be referred to an eye specialist. And, if you are deaf or cannot hear conversation spoken in a normal tone of voice, they will ask you to mount the outside rearview mirror on the left side of the vehicle or wear a hearing aid
  4. Pass a knowledge test
  5. Take a photo of yourself
  6. Pay the required $48 fee and get your license.

If you don’t want to apply for the intermediate or full license when you turn 18 you should renew your learner’s license to be able to drive.

The required documents

Submit the documents to verify the following information about you:

  • a. Your identity, including your full name
  • b. Your date of birth
  • c. Your Social Security number
  • d. Your US citizenship
  • e. Your residential address in Florida
  • f. Completed Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor form. This should be signed by your parent. So, be sure to come to the Driver License Service Center with your parent.

Intermediate (Teen) Driver’s License

If you hold your learner’s license for at least 1 year, you can apply for the intermediate license. It will allow you to drive without a licensed supervisor. But there are restrictions you have to follow:

  1. Until you turn 17, you may drive unsupervised only between 6:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m
  2. Until you turn 18, you may drive unsupervised only between 5:00 a.m. and 1:00 a.m

Otherwise, a licensed driver should be with you in your front seat.

How to apply

  1. Complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving experience. 10 hours of which should be at night
  2. Visit with your parent the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHMSV) Driver License Service Center to apply in person. Your parent should fill and sign the Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor (HSMV 71142) form
  3. Pass a driving test

You don’t need to pay extra fees to submit the same documents for your intermediate (teen) driver’s license.

Full-privilege Driver License

If you already have an intermediate driver’s license the only thing you need to do is pass a driving test, take a photo of yourself and pay $48 for your new full driver’s license.

But if you are 18 and are going to apply for the license first time here are the steps you need to follow.

How to apply

  1. Complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course or an equivalent course offered by your local school board
  2. Make an appointment and apply for your Florida driver’s license in person at a DHSMV driver’s license service center
  3. Pass a vision test. If your visual acuity readings are below 20/40, you’ll have to visit an eye specialist
  4. Pass a hearing test. If you are deaf or cannot hear conversation spoken in a normal tone of voice, they will ask you to mount the outside rearview mirror on the left side of the vehicle or wear a hearing aid
  5. Pass a driving test
  6. Take a photo of yourself
  7. Pay $48 for your driver’s license and you will receive your Florida DL within a couple of days

The required documents

Submit the documents to verify the following information about you:

  • a. Your identity, including your full name
  • b. Your date of birth
  • c. Your Social Security number
  • d. Your US citizenship
  • e. Your residential address in Florida

You don’t need to bring any certificate to prove that you have completed the TLSAE course. Your information is automatically submitted to DHSMV.

Florida Driver License Renewal

In the state of Florida, you can renew your DL in person, by mail, or online. But, if you are eligible to renew your license online, you will receive an email in advance. And, to renew it online you will need to meet several conditions.

So, it’d be better to renew it in person. In the same way, as you applied.

To renew your DL you need to bring the following documents to the DHSMV Driver License Service Center.

Submit the documents to verify the following information about you:

  • a. Your identity, including your full name
  • b. Your date of birth
  • c. Your Social Security number
  • d. Your US citizenship
  • e. Your residential address in Florida
  • f. Your current DL license

Transfer your DL to Florida

If you are moving to the state of Florida and have a valid driver’s license in another state here are the steps you need to take:

  1. Transfer the driver’s license in person at a DHSMV Driver License Service Center
  2. Pass vision and hearing tests. If your visual acuity readings are below 20/40, you’ll be referred to an eye specialist. And, if you are deaf or cannot hear conversation spoken in a normal tone of voice, they will ask you to mount the outside rearview mirror on the left side of the vehicle or wear a hearing aid
  3. Take a photo of yourself
  4. Pay $48 for your new Florida driver’s license

The required documents

Submit the documents to verify the following information about you:

  • a. Your identity, including your full name
  • b. Your date of birth
  • c. Your Social Security number
  • d. Your US citizenship
  • e. Your residential address in Florida
  • f. Your current DL license.

Elen G

Elen is an English-Armenian-Russian translator and interpreter. But recently she tested her skills in content writing. According to her words, it's her new passion. Elen finds it more interesting to make searches and write content rather than look through the dictionaries to find a good synonym for a word. She hopes, that she will succeed in this field too, and will continue to grow and learn every day.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State